ISO 9000 Family of Standards

| | , , ,

We all know about ISO 9001:2015. But most of us aren’t aware that there’s a complete ISO 9000 Family of Standards. ISO standards are globally recognized standards for quality management systems. ISO standards are given to processes and not to products. Having ISO certification for a business is beneficial in many ways. Whether it is a business expansion or having customer satisfaction, ISO certification is an essential requirement for succeeding in the market.

If we use the entire family of ISO Standards, there’s a guarantee of getting better results. Therefore it is important to know about the complete ISO family. In this article, we will read about the ISO 9000 Family of Standards.

ISO 9000 Family of Standards

ISO 9000:2015 – Fundamentals and Definitions

It is one of the most popular ISO standards, and it provides clear demonstrations and terminologies for the ISO 9000 series.

It sets the ground for quality management and introduces seven quality management principles.

Unlike ISO 9001:2015, organizations don’t require certification for this category as it is like a detailed and informative introduction to ISO.

ISO 9001:2015 – Requirements in Quality management systems

ISO 9001 Certification is the only member of the ISO 9000 family that provides certification.

As ISO sets the various benchmarks, the ISO 9001:2015 offers different types of frameworks of policies that ensure that your business’s products and services are up to the mark and meet consumers’ expectations.

ISO 9001:2015 is accepted to be better than the previous benchmark known as ISO 9001:2008. To register for ISO 9001:2015 certification, you need three types of documents which are as follows.

  • Business Registration Proof
  • Letter Head or Visiting Card
  • Sales and Purchase Invoice

You’ll also get a unique ISO Certificate number after registering for ISO 9001:2015.

Following are the clauses defined in ISO 9001:2015. It is mandatory to fulfil all the requirements in these clauses to get the ISO 9001:2015 Certification.

  • Clause 4 – Context of the organization
  • Clause 5 – Leadership
  • Clause 6 – Planning
  • Clause 7 – Support
  • Clause 8 – Operation
  • Clause 9 – Performance evaluation
  • Clause 10 – Improvement

ISO/TS 9002:2016 

Like ISO 9001:2015, this ISO standard is used for introducing quality management systems. It is more informative, and the basis for 9002:2016 is 9001:2015. It explains each clause which we read above one by one in detail.

It also includes the detailed examples of each step which a business organization can take to fulfil the requirements. However, you don’t need any ISO certification for this category, as it is like a detailed guide to ISO 9001:2015.

ISO 9004:2018 – Guide to achieving constant success

ISO 9004:2018 is the guide to sustain the ISO standards that the organization obtains and implements. We all know to maintain and succeed in the market; the business needs constant improvement.

Therefore, 9004:2018 comes as a handy guide to check your progress. It provides you with quality self-assessment tools to analyze the organization regarding leadership, business strategies, management system, resources, and processes to identify areas of strength and weakness and scope for improvement and innovations. Generally, businesses that are on the top in the market use this guide in combination with ISO 9001:2015 to stabilize their position on the top.


We can say that ISO standards have a complete family which is beneficial for every business organization. ISO standard family is an essential resource that businesses can use to implement, check, and maintain their quality and success.

ISO certification is mandatory if any company faces difficulties in operation and wants the best customer satisfaction with cost-effective products and solutions. Working as per ISO standards can be a great problem solver and an excellent aid to boost the business.

ISO Certification for Manufacturing Business

Moreover, if you need any further guidance as regards the ISO certification in India, please feel free to communicate with our business advisors at 8881-069-069.

Download E-Startup Mobile App and never avoid the freshest updates relating to your business.


IEC Code Requires Renewal Every Year, else De-activated

Trademark Registration for Grains, Fresh Fruits and Vegetables: Trademark Class 31


1 thought on “ISO 9000 Family of Standards”

Leave a Comment